Franklin

We come to our senses : stories / Odie Lindsey.

Author/Creator:
Lindsey, Odie, author.
Publication:
New York : W. W. Norton & Company, 2016.
Format/Description:
Book
208 pages ; 22 cm
Edition:
First edition.
Status/Location:
Loading...

Get It

Details

Standardized Title:
Short stories. Selections
Subjects:
Veterans -- Fiction.
Southern States -- Fiction.
Veterans.
Southern States.
Fiction.
War stories.
Form/Genre:
Psychological fiction
Psychological fiction.
War stories.
Fiction.
Summary:
"For readers of Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South. Lacerating and lyrical, We Come to Our Senses centers on men and women affected by combat directly and tangentially, and the peculiar legacies of war. The story "Evie M." is about a vet turned office clerk whose petty neuroses derail even her suicide; in "We Come to Our Senses," a hip young couple leaves the city for the sticks, trading film festivals for firearms; in "Colleen" a woman redeploys to her Mississippi hometown, and confronts the superior who abused her at war; and in "11/19/98" a couple obsesses over sitcoms and retail catalogs, extracting joy and deeper meaning. The story "Hers" is about the sexual politics of a combat zone" -- Provided by publisher.
Contents:
Evie M.
Darla
So bored in Nashville
Chicks
Clean
They
Bird (on back)
In the alley that runs behind my rotted clapboard apartment house there are sick cats
Colleen
11/19/98
Pickle
Wall
We come to our senses
D. Garcia brings the war
Hers.
ISBN:
9780393249606
0393249603
OCLC:
921868902