The social power of music.

Washington, DC : Smithsonian Folkways, 2019.
Sound recording
4 audio discs : digital ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 book (125 pages : illustrations ; 30 cm)
Folk music.
Sacred music.
Protest songs.
Compact discs.
Disc 1. We shall overcome / The Freedom Singers (2:09)
This land is your land / Woody Guthrie (2:48)
De colores (made of colors) / Baldemar Velásquez with Aguila Negra (3:02)
Union maid / Bobbie McGee (2:13)
If I had a hammer / Pete Seeger (1:54)
Reclaim the night / Peggy Seeger (4:33)
Estoy aquí (I am here) / Quetzal (5:21)
Deportees (plane wreck at Los Gatos) / Sammy Walker (4:57)
We are the children / Chris Kando Iijima, Joanne Nobuko Miyamoto, and Charlie Chin (2:55)
I woke up this morning / Fannie Lou Hamer (2:36)
I feel like I'm fixin' to die / Country Joe McDonald (2:59)
El pobre sigue sufriendo (the poor keep on suffering) / Andrés Jimenéz (3:26)
Ballad of the era / Kristin Lems (4:11)
Where have all the flowers gone? / Pete Seeger (2:06)
Blowing in the wind / The New World Singers (2:32)
Quihubo raza (what's happening, people) / Augustín Lira and Alma (3:50)
Solidarity forever / Joe Glazer (2:30)
Joe Hill / Paul Robeson (3:00)
Joaquin Murrieta / Rumel Fuentes (3:35)
Which side are you on? / The Almanac Singers (2:10)
Legal/illegal / Ewan MacColl and Peggy Seeger (4:12)
Isn't it nice / Barbara Dane and the Chambers Brothers (4:05).
Disc 2. Amazing grace / The Old Regular Baptists (2:44)
Come by here / Barbara Dane and the Chambers Brothers (5:33)
Will the circle be unbroken / Strange Creek Singers (3:38)
Peace in the valley / The Paramount Singers (3:50)
Many Eagle set sun dance song / The Pembina Chippewa Singers (2:11)
Zuni rain dance / Members of Zuni Pueblo (4:41)
Calvary / Shape-Note Singers at Stewart's Chapel (1:27)
Northfield / The Old Harp Singers of Eastern Tennessee (1:58)
The call to prayer/Adhan / Ahmad Al Alawi (2:10)
Zikr (Except) / Sheikh Xhemail Shehu and Members of the Prizren Rifa'i Tekke (2:45)
Buddhist chants and prayers / Tu Huyen, Hai Phat, Tam Thu, Hai Dat (4:34)
Kol Nidre / Cantor Abraham Brun (5:05)
Dayeinu / Raasche and Alan Mills (1:47)
Night chant / Sandoval Begay (2:12)
Hark, hark / Carolers from the Black Bull, Ecclesfield, UK (3:11)
Swing low, sweet chariot / The Princely Players (2:47)
The old rugged cross / The Paschall Brothers (5:17)
Madre de Dolores (mother of sorrows) / Hermanos de la Morada Nuestra Señora de Dolores del Alto (2:56)
San Miguel (Saint Michael) / Francia Reyes (4:11)
I'll fly away / Rose Maddox (2:32).
Disc 3. Party down at the Blue Angel Club / Clifton Chenier and his Red Hot Louisiana Band (4:51)
San Antonio rose / Los Reyes de Albuquerque (2:38)
Jolie blonde (pretty blonde) / Austin Pitre (2:47)
Shake your moneymaker / John Littlejohn (4:19)
Beer-drinking polka / Flaco Jiménez and Max Baca (2:25)
In Heaven there is no beer / The Goose Island Ramblers (2:32)
Sam (get down) / Sam Brothers Five (4:10)
Golden slippers/the butterfly whirl / Lester Bradley and Friends (4:31)
Sligo Indians/Paddy Clancy's/Larry Redican's/The rambling pitchfork / Tony Demarco (4:21)
La entrega de los novios (the delivery of the newlyweds) / Lorenzo Martínez (3:46)
Rock dance song (Cree/Metis) / The Pembina Chippewa Singers (2:20)
Pow Wow song / Chippewa Nation (2:52)
Mary Mack / Lily's Chapel School, Alabama (1:58)
Johnny Cuckoo / Janie Hunter and Children at Home (1:15)
Rooster call / John Henry Mealing and Group (4:00)
Joy to the world / Elizabeth Mitchell (3:06)
Oylupnuv Obrutch (the broken hoop song) / The Golden Gate Gypsy Orchestra (2:01)
Liberty funeral march / The Liberty Brass Band (4:51)
Junkanoos #1 / Key West Junkanoo Band (3:07)
The star spangled banner / Unknown orchestra (1:16)
Mardi Gras medley (excerpt) / Rebirth Jazz Band (4:33).
Disc 4. Vive la quince brigada (long live the 15th brigade) / Pete Seeger (3:04)
Bella ciao (goodbye beautiful) / Singers of the "Bella Ciao" Production of Spoleto (1:35)
A desalambrar (tear down the fences) / Expresión Joven (5:07)
Muato mua n'gola (women of Angola) / Lilly Tchiumba (2:34)
Un gigante que despierta (an awakening giant) / Luis Godoy and Grupo Mancotal (4:03)
Hasret (longing) / Melike Demirag (3:10)
Prisoneros somos (we are all prisoners) / Zelia Barbosa (1:59)
Izakunyatheli Afrika verwoerd (Africa is going to trample on you, verawoerd) / South African Refugees in Tanganyika (1:52)
The boy with the sunlit smile / Mikis Theodorakis (2:48)
Hidup di bui (life in jail) / Gambang Kromong Sledang Betawi Featuring KWI AP (5:34)
Man and buffalo (kon gap kwai) / Caravan (3:40)
Why need we cry? / Cantor Abraham Brun (2:32)
El palomo (the dove) / Grupo Raíz (4:06)
Hvem sidder dér bag skaermen (the roadmaker) / Inger Nielsen (3:08)
Mon; etu ua kassule / Musician Supporters of the MPLA (5:35)
Le temps des cerises (cherry blossom time) / Yves Montand (4:37)
Congsun arirang / Singers from Central Korea (4:03)
The passport / Marcel Kahalifé (9:23)
Inno della resistenza (hymn of the resistance) / Choir of FLN Fighters (1:28).
Various performers.
Produced by Jeff Place and Huib Schippers.
Contains material previously released.
Discs inserted into pockets in book; text includes introduction, notes on each track by various authors, bibliographical references and discography.
Place, Jeffrey, producer.
Schippers, Huib, producer.
Seeger, Anthony, contributor.
Sonneborn, D. A., contributor.
Wong, Deborah, contributor.
Smithsonian Institution.
Smithsonian/Folkways Recordings.
Location Notes Your Loan Policy
Description Status Barcode Your Loan Policy