Franklin

The outwardness of art : selected writings of Adrian Stokes / edited by Thomas Evans.

Author/Creator:
Stokes, Adrian, 1902-1972 author.
Standardized Title:
Essays. Selections
Publication:
London : Ridinghouse, 2020.
Format/Description:
Book
601 pages ; 23 cm
Subjects:
Art.
Art criticism -- England.
Art criticism.
England.
Form/Genre:
Essays.
Essays.
Summary:
"Adrian Stokes (1902-1972) was at once the last of the great British amateur art writers in the tradition of Ruskin and Pater, and - as the first art theorist to substantially synthesize aesthetics and psychoanalysis - among the first of the moderns. Since the publication of his groundbreaking Faber books The Quattro Cento and Stones of Rimini in the 1930s, Stokes's writing has enjoyed an incredibly diverse readership across disciplines ranging from psychoanalysis to literature and art, from Ernst Gombrich to Dore Ashton, Ben Nicholson to Philip Guston, Ezra Pound to John Ashbery. " -- Publisher's description.
Notes:
Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contributor:
Evans, Thomas, 1974- editor.
ISBN:
9781909932487
1909932485
OCLC:
1107122815
Loading...
Location Notes Your Loan Policy
Description Status Barcode Your Loan Policy