Franklin

All girls / Emily Layden.

Author/Creator:
Layden, Emily, 1989- author.
Publication:
New York, NY : St. Martin's Press, an imprint of St. Martin's Publishing Group, 2021.
Format/Description:
Book
311 pages ; 25 cm
Edition:
First edition.
Status/Location:
Loading...

Get It

Details

Subjects:
Teenage girls -- Fiction.
Girls' schools -- Fiction.
Preparatory schools -- New England -- Fiction.
Teacher-student relationships -- Fiction.
Scandals -- Fiction.
New England -- Fiction.
Connecticut -- Fiction.
Girls' schools.
Preparatory schools.
Scandals.
Teacher-student relationships.
Teenage girls.
Connecticut.
New England.
Form/Genre:
Bildungsromans.
Fiction.
Bildungsromans.
Summary:
"A keenly perceptive coming-of-age novel for fans of Sally Rooney, Curtis Sittenfeld, and J. Courtney Sullivan, All Girls captures one year at a prestigious New England prep school, as nine young women navigate their ambitions, friendships, and fears against the backdrop of a scandal the administration wants silenced. But as the months unfold, and the school's efforts to control the ensuing crisis fall short, these extraordinary girls are forced to discover their voices, and their power. A tender and unflinching portrait of modern adolescence told through the shifting perspectives of an unforgettable cast of female students, All Girls explores what it means to grow up in a place that promises you the world--when the world still isn't yours for the taking"-- Provided by publisher.
In a hilly corner of Connecticut, Atwater is an all-girls boarding school, a haven for progressive thinking and feminist intellectuals since its founding in 1813. But now an Atwater alumna has made an accusation of sexual misconduct against an unidentified teacher-- who is still employed by the school two decades after the incident allegedly took place. As the weeks wear on, the administration's efforts to control the crisis fall short. What does it mean for a place to promise you the world-- when the world still isn't yours for the taking? -- adapted from jacket
ISBN:
9781250270894
1250270898
9781250270900
OCLC:
1151060128