Watergate : a new history / Garrett M. Graff.

Graff, Garrett M., 1981- author.
New York : Avid Reader Press, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc., 2022.
xxxiv, 793 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates ; illustrations ; 24 cm
First Avid Reader Press hardcover edition.

Get It


Watergate Affair, 1972-1974.
Political corruption -- United States.
Political corruption.
Politics and government.
Nixon, Richard M. (Richard Milhous), 1913-1994.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1969-1974.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1974-1977.
United States.
"From the New York Times bestselling author of The Only Plane in the Sky, the first definitive narrative history of Watergate, exploring the full scope of the scandal through the politicians, investigators, journalists, and informants who made it the most influential political event of our modern era." --
In the early hours of June 17, 1972, a security guard found tape on doors at the Watergate office complex, and called the police. The arrests of five men seeking to bug and burgle the Democratic National committee offices unraveled a web of scandal that ultimately ended a presidency and forever altered views of moral authority and leadership. Graff explores the full scope of this unprecedented moment, from the 1971 publication of the Pentagon Papers through a conspiracy deeper and more corrupt than anyone thought possible, a conspiracy that threw the nation into a state of crisis and created one of the darkest chapters in American history. -- adapted from jacket
Machine generated contents note: pt. I The Kindling 1971
ch. 1 All the President's Men
ch. 2 "Ellsberg? I've Never Heard of Him"
ch. 3 The Chennault Affair
ch. 4 The Huston Plan
ch. 5 Burglarizing Brookings
ch. 6 The Plumbers
ch. 7 The Enemies List
ch. 8 Sandwedge
pt. II The Match 1972
ch. 9 The Committee to Re-Elect
ch. 10 The Dita Beard Memo
ch. 11 "He's Our Hitler"
ch. 12 Third-Rate Burglars
ch. 13 "A Crime That Could Destroy Us All"
ch. 14 "Boys Will Be Boys"
ch. 15 "Stay the Hell Out of This"
ch. 16 "Keep My Mouth Shut"
ch. 17 The Arrival of Mr. Rivers
ch. 18 The Dahlberg Check
ch. 19 The Patman Probe
ch. 20 "A Hell of a Story"
ch. 21 "I Can't Talk About Segretti"
ch. 22 Landslide
pt. III Brushfire January
June 1973
ch. 23 "Something Was Rotten"
ch. 24 Guilty Pleas
ch. 25 The "Country Lawyer" Enters
ch. 26 "Twist Slowly, Slowly in the Wind"
ch. 27 "Perjury Occurred"
ch. 28 "What Meat Do They Eat?"
ch. 29 "Voice of Doom"
ch. 30 The End of Mark Felt
ch. 31 "A No-Win Job"
ch. 32 "A Russian Novel"
pt. IV Firestorm July
December 1973
ch. 33 "We Need You Today"
ch. 34 Butterfield's Bombshell
ch. 35 Must-See TV
ch. 36 Spiro
ch. 37 "An Upheaval in Washington"
ch. 38 Mud-Wrestling
ch. 39 "He Is Essentially Alone"
ch. 40 "The Mahogany Coffin"
ch. 41 The Massacre
ch. 42 "We Have No Functional President"
ch. 43 The Patriotic Monkey
ch. 44 "I Am Not a Crook"
ch. 45 The Rose Mary Stretch
ch. 46 "Do I Fight?"
pt. V Inferno 1974
ch. 47 Flutter and Wow
ch. 48 Le Grand Fromage
ch. 49 "Don't Miss Page 503"
ch. 50 The United States v. Richard M. Nixon
ch. 51 Impeachment
ch. 52 The Smoking Pistol
ch. 53 The Final Days
ch. 54 "A Day for Tears"
ch. 55 "I Shall Resign".
Includes bibliographical references (pages 689-757) and index.
Publisher Number: